5 Root Chakra Affirmations for Grounding & Protection


Affiliate Disclosure: If you make a purchase after clicking one of the links on this website, I may receive a small commission at no additional cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Root chakra affirmations are increasing in popularity, as more people branch out into mindfulness and spirituality and manifestation.

Here, we are going to break down what exactly a root chakra is and some of the best affirmations that you can use. 

What is the Root Chakra?

To start with the absolute basics, chakras have their roots firmly based in Sanskrit. This is an ancient language in Hinduism, and chakras are centers of energy that we locate within our bodies.

When translated literally, the word chakra means ‘wheel’ because it acts as a sort of vortex where matter and consciousness meet.

The concept behind this is that as human beings, at our core we all have several chakra wheels spinning around – for now we will focus on the main several chakras. 

So, the first chakra is the root chakra and this is located at the base of the spine, and this is close to the perineum. The root chakra is associated with survival, feeling secure and feeling grounded.

The root chakra’s element is earth and it is represented by the color red. Chakras start at the base of the spine and work their way up to the crown of the head.

These chakras are not located randomly in the body, in fact, in reality they actually correspond to a major nerve center within the body. Each chakra represents an essential part of consciousness within our lives.

Chakras have their own vibrational frequency which translates to a specific color and function – like we mentioned earlier. If you like, chakras form a rainbow bridge at the core of each human being which connects every part of the body.

The chakras work to connect the body and spirit, along with the mind and matter and the past and future.

We focused on the first chakra before, and the Sanskrit name for this is Muladhara which breaks down into two Sanskrit words: mula means ‘root’ and adhara means ‘support’ or ‘bases’, hence why this is the root chakra.

This first chakra at the base of the spine forms the foundation of the entire chakra system. If you do not balance the root chakra before progressing on to the other chakras, then your chakra development will not be grounded or stable for true growth.

5 Root Chakra Affirmations to Try Today

It can be difficult to know where to start with root chakra affirmations, but we advise that simplicity is key when it comes to the affirmations.

Keeping them concise and to the point will really help your manifestation within the chakras. Some key root chakra affirmations to get you started are as follows:

  1. I am present and I am safe.
  2. I am cared for and loved by Mother Earth.
  3. I am at home in my own body.
  4. With every breath, the anxiety and fear within me is released.
  5. I am financially free.

The root chakra affirmations are meant to bring a sense of security and stability upon you, and so establishing these foundations as part of your root chakra development will make you feel stable in your further chakra growth. 

Root Chakra Affirmations


Writer + Creator of Vital Ethos

Sasha is a writer, spiritual teacher, highly sensitive intuitive, and artist on a mission to illuminate your path to personal growth and transformation with helpful tools and resources like digital journals and workbooks ✨

Raise Your Vibe

Change Your Life

Claim Your FREE Higher Self Journal

Packed with life-changing prompts to help you activate and align with your best self.


100% free. Unsubscribe anytime.

Search VitalEthos.com:

Explore Your Soul


When you make a purchase after clicking one of the links on this website, I may receive a small commission at no additional cost to you. As an Amazon Associate, I earn from qualifying purchases.

Powered by Cloudways

Built With GeneratePress & GenerateBlocks

© 2019 - 2024 Glow Digital Media LLC

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap